More than just a moorland track

This is the Doctors Gate path over the Pennines in The North Derbyshire Peak District National Park. A very popular route with a bridge that has always been a pleasure to cross despite the boggy ground beyond.

The bridge current has a great big hole in it. This has been the same for a long time I suppose its passable with care but its such a shame its never been replaced.

As I stood at the point there were Golden Plover, Curlew and nesting Canada Geese calling out. There was also a birdcall I am unsure of and wish I had had an expert with me to help. Listening to many calls on the computer since I got back I think it may have been Dunlin.

On the return walk - I had a chat with a couple walking it for the first time and thanks to them I was facing in the correct direction to see a Ring Ouzel fly across the valley. They probably thought I was a bit strange as I was so excited about it. They were interested though and I explained the 'Mountain Blackbird' to them and told them they might see one round the corner.

the promised heavy rainfall never arrived so I did nip out between the football matches and before the University Boat Race and managed to see a Brown Hare

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.