Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Are you ok?

"Are you ok?"

I looked up from my prone position and found the face that went with the very crisp, Cambridge college, enunciation. Complete with fledgling scruffy beard and college colours rowing jacket, his face seemed to hover over the shrubbery, his look all questioning and compassion.
"Oh yes, thank you, I'm fine".
"It just appeared that you might have, you know, somewhat, sort of fallen off your bike!" He bumbled on.
I surveyed my circumstances and agreed. My bike lay on the ground, myself sprawled out in front and to the side, immersed in the long grass and field full of Dandelion heads.
"Hahah, thanks......but I'm fine, just getting some photos".
"Oh.........splendid!". In a very Cheshire Cat manner he seemed to waver and then was gone.
I smiled to myself and carried on snapping....

As I got up off the ground and looked about me, I thought about his last word, as the rain gently fell and the birds sang amongst the trees and hedgerows, with all the bobbing heads of dandelions at my feet, I had to agree again...........splendid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.