From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

'It never rains but it pours...'

'It never rains but it pours'.

Well whoever said that first had it right. He was probably a laughing leprechaun wearing a green jacket who said that. At least I have stopped swearing now although it is still raining. Typical! It hasn't stopped raining since yesterday. I wonder if it's got anything to do with all the umbrellas I've bought recently?

Anyway, I was working from home today on my old work laptop which has been upgraded by Deepak (who is on a short term contract with us) to Windows 7. He is doing that for every laptop/machine in the council house and I collected mine yesterday. I don't think the council have any plans to move onto Windows 8 ever, as it's rubbish!

Everything has been fine today. It took me a while to get going though as Deepak had stripped off virtually everything and I had to hunt about to find my home Broadband password to set up the wifi. You seldom need that until you get something new and then you need it. You wouldn't want a new life support machine or a pacemaker attached to it would you? Imagine having to get your password in before you start singing with the angels or enjoying the heat downstairs....

The nicest thing has been that I was able to trick my wireless printer into working. I couldn't get it to work wired, which was OK before. Now it works wirelessly, which is good news.

I set a few new starters up early on and then was annoyed to see two squirrels swinging on the fatball container. They have nuts at the side of the shed so there is no need for that. I went out in the pouring rain to repair the broken feeder, top up the nuts and add a load of mealworms for the chattering masses watching me from the shed roof. On the way, back into the house - I was a bit wet anyway - my phone in my pocket rang, then stopped and rang again and in hurrying back inside, I slipped in the growing lake on the patio, landed on my arse in the mud with the open packet of mealworms flying everywhere. I swear I could hear all the birds and squirrels laughing. I got to my feet somehow and fled inside answering my phone in the back corridor bit which leads into the house and it was mom in a quavery voice sounding worried. I could not believe it!! I was panicstricken something had happened with her eyes, or some other horror had occured. What did she say to the dripping, muddy, grumpy me?

'Roz. Tesco Man didn't deliver any McCain Chunky Chips, Magnums or McCain Jacket Potatoes! Make sure they don't charge you for them!'

I didn't swear at mom and thanked her for telling me but I did go a bit bonkers once I'd gotten off the phone. Horror of horrors! I squelched upstairs and threw virtually everything in the laundry basket. I had to shake the mealworms out into the bathtub first. What a mess!

Everything else that happened today is completely irrelevant. I am still grumpy and have a sore patch at the base of my spine. I hope I suffer no permanent brain damage after sitting on them so violently.

Today's picture is the best of a bad bunch. Everything was very dull today.
Go large!

Update - Mom rang again just before 6pm to tell me that 'the nice young man from Tesco' who had called at 10am had turned up again with a carrier bag containing her three missing items! Not bad considering they'd emailed me a few hours ago to say they were refunding my money. Dearie me! What service!

Track? Something from The Yardbirds today - For Your Love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.