A momentous day on the KESR

The culimation of over 2 years of training today as I was finally passed out as qualified to work the Wittersham Road Signalbox. After 15 days of theory lectures, 10 written tests, 2 practical exams, a final written exam, 20 learning days in the signalbox, one failed passing out turn, I achieved an ambition I've had for over 20 years and one of the targets I set myself for my retirement.

In the grand scheme of things, it's not like qualifying as a nurse or doctor or teacher or doing anything significant to help the world be a better place but it is an achievement which gives quiet satisfaction.

I feel relief at the moment, rather than elation and am looking forward to my first turn on Sunday 8th June.

This view is of Tenterden Town station where I went to pick up the signalling inspector ready for the 7 hour passing out turn in the box. Just glad it is all over now and the real learning can take place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.