Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Slurp...

... On an orange?

There was a very tired bee in the kitchen.
The orange slice was the first natural thing that came to hand to be his/her carriage for the short trip into the garden.
I watched with interest the apparent (elephant trunk like) enjoyment of the juice!
I half expected to be shot in the eye.
Anyway, after a short rest it flew away.
Job done :-)

I was reminded of a phrase my Daughter's Grandpa used to use, when feeling that someone was taking too long over something (such as his wife, shopping)...
'Pull up your socks, blow your nose, have a suck on my orange and COME ON'.

Another one of his was, 'how many beans make five?'
Answer: 'One bean, two beans, a bean and a half and half a bean'.

And, one of his favourites, 'I'll meet you at the gatepost. If you get there first mark it with chalk... If I get there first I'll rub it off'.

Bless him. Old School. (He only had two fingers and a thumb on one hand, having lost half of a hand at his first job, at fifteen, on a circular saw in a joiners shop. Ouch... There wasn't much in the way of 'elf and safety' in those days).

I appear to be rambling.

This is a bee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.