Aerial View

More detail in large.

It's not easy to get a damselfly to stay still as you approach them from above... especially as close as I like to be... But with a lot of patience and my monopod (to reduce the shakes), I slowly won the trust of this damselfly. Once I was in my ideal position (eons after I had started the move-in) she whipped her head back and looked at me several times and raised a leg in protest, but eventually gave in and let me get a few shots.

My goal was to have the lens parallel to the length of her, so both the eyes and the tip of the tail would be in focus; and to be close enough to extract sufficient detail for you to see all the working parts from above. The wind made it extra challenging, but for a first try, I'm happy with the results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.