Unexpected surprise

I was left a message to go to the office at lunchtime today - I panicked and thought maybe James' school had rung to tell me more tales of my accident prone child.

When I wandered in and asked "did someone want me?", Vanessa stopped me in my tracks and told me to turn around, whilst Myra shielded my sight with newspapers!!! I kid you not.

Then I was presented with this wonderful bouquet of flowers - from Denis, my colleague who retired just before Christmas. A thankyou for what I'd done in terms of preparations - sneaking around, gathering photos together spanning his career, photobook, tracking down copies of Its A Knockout and Jeuz san frontiers from the BBC Archive (with the help of a couple of fellow blippers) ...much subterfuge, well supported by Denis' wife and two daughters - who have finally spilled the beans to him about what went on in the run up to his retirement 'do'.

And you know what, I'd do it all again for him, because I knew it would mean a lot to him.

So, Denis, the flowers are beautiful and very much appreciated. You really didn't have to, but I am glad you did. The pleasure was all mine when I saw your face and the genuine surprise on the evening.

I miss you and your silliness.
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.