History

I had a slightly morbid conversation with a client, today. He's recently turned sixty and his brother gave him a case of wine that was bottled in 1954 as a gift. Wondering when he might drink it, he said to his wife that he might leave it for people to drink at his funeral.

Which, indirectly, led me to thinking about this blog and how long it might be here after I shuffle off and stop making my contribution to the clutter that constitutes most of the web. How long before anyone even remembers that it was here or before some housekeeping algorithm decides to take it down?

Coincidentally, today, the car park in Kirkby Lonsdale was re-painted, making it look fresh and new, and I had a sudden urge to record that fact, before that too just slips into the unrecorded past.

That really does all sound a bit depressing but that's not how I feel. I suppose that, ultimately, I'm just wondering what will happen to all these photos and posts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.