Santa Fe Art

We spent a fascinating morning at the Santa Fe International Folk Art event. It was incredibly busy and crowded.

Craft and art from all over the world was for sale on a huge complex near the Santa Fe Museums on Museum Hill. Thousands from all over the US attended to purchase handicrafts from all over the world - China, Uzbekistan, Mexico, South Africa, Vietnam, Laos, Pakistan, Colombia etc etc. The list goes on (I was puzzled to see one group from France though).

The payment process was complex and while my friend waited forty-five minutes in line as part of the business, I wandered away from the bright lights, searing heat and pulsating rhythms to the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture

There had been problems with the portaloos on the site of the exhibition and the guy on the desk was being bombarded with complaints and questions. I said to him,"I'm not asking about toilets - just about what's in the museum". He smiled and told me.

And added, "It's cool, quiet and free"

It was also magnificent. Pueblo pottery. Native American music - and jewellery in a stunning exhibition about turquoise and silver.

The blip is of the Museum's sculpture garden.

I was so absorbed I was late back to meet up with my friend!

Sorry I'm not keeping up with comments but it's been a very busy time. Promise I'll catch up later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.