Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lunch and culture

Archie hasn't had an 'accident' for quite some time now, and we almost trust him to have the run of the house. Famous last words... He is even more fun now - he follows us everywhere, appears at doors with a toy in his mouth subtly trying to suggest a game of chasey round the house.

JR took him out for a windy walk this morning before we went off for lunch and the afternoon play. We went to the Mosque Kitchen, a place we haven't been for ages. But boy, it's good value and very tasty. A huge plateful of chicken curry and rice, with a choice of vege curry - all for the modest sum of £5!

The second of the James Plays, and we were on stage again. Another fantastic production! The two young male leads, James 11 and his cousin and childhood friend, William Douglas, were on stage the whole time. Brilliant acting. Brilliant costumes. Brilliant production altogether.

At one point, the pair of them were standing right in front of us, up in the stage seating. We could see their spittle flying and their sweat dripping. After their heated exchange, William slumped down crying, his bowed head right at my foot. I was very very tempted to just put my hand out and pat him and say, 'There, there son' ... but it might have broken the spell. And it was spellbinding!

I knew not to take any photos, even of an empty stage. But I kept seeing flashes all around in the circle and stalls as everyone else ignored the rule before the start and at the interval. And so I fiddled around with my camera on my knee to take a slow shutter with no flash. The young lady came to tell me off, but when I said that everyone else was taking photos, she said I could take one at the end. So I did. Not very good, but just to remind me of a special show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.