Charlie, the Donut Maker

I thought it would be an easy peasy lemon-squeezy (I hate that) Blip day. A local orchard was having a car show/craft show. The problem? Rain, and more rain. When I got there, six cars were left. All the rest had given up.

I took several pictures, and then the skies opened up with a heavy downpour. Inside I went.

I was struggling to get a good angle of the dropping donuts when the big door opened. "If you don't want to worry about that glare on the window...c'mon inside." It was the owner of the place, Mr. Mueller.

YES! My first time behind-the-scenes of a donut making operation. But, I was so flustered and surprised that he asked me to come back...that I didn't ask any questions.

"Yeast, or no yeast?"
"Homemade recipe, or donut-mix-in-a -bag?"
"What temperature is the cooking oil?"
"Since you asked me back...how about me munching on these rejects?"
"How about me dippin my finger into that cinnamon and sugar?"

All I did was take a couple of pictures, and thank him.

My favorite part is halfway through the donut dash, where the donuts take a flip on their way to being finished. Mesmerizing.

No, I didn't buy any. They were 7 dollars for a dozen. I did buy a half-a-peck of Gala apples.

Some apple shots, and 2 old vehicles are on my FLICKR PAGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.