Wednesday: Skopje Madness

We have not been disappointed in Skopje!  It is a crazy, and yet fantastically wonderful, city.

I have never seen anything quite like it.  Think Las Vegas meets Rome in its heyday.  There is not a vacant plot of land that has not had a statue put on it - and we are taking seriously big statues of Macedonian heroes, mainly on horses.  Whatever size you have conjured up in your mind, triple it.

There is also a massive amount of building work going on but all the new buildings are being made to look Roman with immense columns, porticoes, and friezes.  And, yes, they are surrounded by more statues as well as having them dotted all over the rooftops.

It is as if someone said we need a massive, grand, world city with every possible antiquity shoved in it and, if we don't have the space, find it!

This fountain is entitled 'Warrior On A Horse' as it has a 40 foot statue on top of it.  When I get home, I'll put some photos on Flickr since neither this photo, nor the fact that I can only post one, do it justice.  Anyway, it is now officially my favourite fountain.  I was won over the minute it started its multi coloured water display in time to 'The Ride Of The Valkyries'.

I would wholeheartedly recommend Skopje as somewhere different to go for a break.  It is seriously worth seeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.