The death of conversation?

Corin and I have had to entertain ourselves in Manchester for 3 hours whilst James and Lewis went to see Linkin Park at the arena.

Given that neither Corin, nor myself, are particular fans of nightclubs or ramjammed bars, that was half of Manchester ruled straight out.

We figured we would mooch around the continental market in Albert Square. Sadly, that too was ramjammed full of drunken revellers and people who wanted to tread on my toes and generally squash me.

We ended up in Patisserie Valerie down on Deansgate where we had scones with jam and clotted cream and copious amounts of fresh tea. It was lovely - we sat in the window and people watched - the underdressed, the drunkards, the tottery high heels...all human life was there to watch.

We also talked and laughed a lot - which is more than can be said for the couple behind us, who spent their time virtually glued to their phones.

I am glad we can still hold a conversation - there's hope for us yet!!! Haha

James and Lewis survived the concert, eardrums intact. A first for me - to let the apron strings loosen a little more and let my boy find his way in the world a bit more independently. (I don't like it one little bit!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.