Life with Alice

By elirin

Benched

Well, this was more or less voluntarily, so maybe it doesn't really count... A nice long walkie with three dog meets, out of which two went spectacularly well. The third was a Berner Sennen that lives in the big house next door. I have barked myself crazy at him once, and I sort of remember that. I concentrated on mum and the promise of a treat until he was just past us. Hm. His mum thinks I am cute barking at him. My mum doesn't.

During our evening walkie, out of nowhere a series of loud, high-pitched sounds cut through the darkness, just a block or so away. Really loud. Like gunfire. I stopped dead. Mum wants me to write that she kept a cool head, stayed happy and continued walking as if nothing had happened, thinking that no one would be that stupid half a block away from the central police station.

A minute went by in silence. We walked. Apprehensively. Then it started again, this time with lights in all colours in the sky. Mum wants me to write that...same same. Miraculously, we made it home without incident. Not a single bark or anything. A huge sigh of relief was heard as we entered the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.