No Static

By nostatic

#8 Syro - Aphex Twin

Album: Syro
Artist: Aphex Twin

One line synopsis: A welcome return for the Cornish king of unclassifiable dance music

Best Track: xmas_evet10 (thanaton3 mix) * I don't actually have a favourite track, so just picked the one with a christmas themed title

---------------------------------

Over the last couple of years a few artists have made surprise comebacks (My Bloody Valentine and Boards of Canada to name two), but with albums that whilst better than most around weren't quite up to it in terms of comparison with their back catalogue. Richard D James was never going to fall into that trap though, with an album that's comfortably familiar but with enough of that Aphex acid taking it off into new shapes.

---------------------------------

Nice coincidence that Arlo brought home a picture from pre-school that could easily be an Aphex Twin album cover from days gone by.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them, feel free to tell me what I've missed
* full countdown tagged nstop102014
* click through to see last year's top 10 and click through again for the year before that

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.