Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Going home!!!

Knowing we were going to be discharged first thing we had doctors in most of the night doing their checks and finishing off his meds, removing the cannula etc and when that was all finished at 5am I couldn't get back to sleep. I didn't mind. Knowing if be back in my own bed tonight!
The doctors and nurses have done an amazing job with my little boy but I'm glad to be leaving it all behind me and getting a second chance and being a new mommy.
W had his tongue tie snipped at 9am. When L had hers done, that first feed afterwards felt perfect, but this time I've not noticed much difference. I'll have to wait and see if it just takes a bit of adjustment for him. I'd hate to give up breastfeeding while he's so little. Hopefully we just need some time. He's been through a lot in just 8 days.

Good news is despite not feeding for those first day or so, he's not nicely above his birth weight and up to 9lbs 13oz. The feeding must be going ok from his point of view!

So we left and went home! Yay! I have been more emotional today getting home than I was the day W was born. I cried when I saw the kids advent calendar on the wall. They made it a few years ago and we get it out each year but this is our first Xmas in this house so it brings home what a big year this has been.

Then I cried when we picked L up from school. I'd not seen her since Saturday and she didn't know we were coming. I could see her up on her tiptoes trying to see over the queue of kids leaving to work out if that really was mummy she had caught a glimpse of. She ran straight out of the gate with the biggest grin. "It's my Wilfy! You brought Wilfy home!" (Welling up now just remembering).

Then I cried again when I saw the school bus pull up from our dining room. I'd left curtains open and the light on so they could see from the bus that I was home and they just pelted themselves off the bus, running across the grass and through the front door for cuddles. In fact we all had a good cry at this point.
I've come to realise I definitely am a family person lol! I'm lost without them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.