Warsaw Floods

I joined thousands of others this evening to see the rising river. Central Europe is currently being saturated by floods and the Vistula River, which runs from the mountainous region of Southern Poland to meet the sea in the North, is rising to its highest levels in 160 years. The city is bracing itself and its flood defences for the big tide that is said to be gathering pace. The water was fast-flowing at Poniatowskiego Bridge, (just behind the trees) and when I went back for another look after a trip to the shops this evening, the water had risen further. TV stations had set up riverside studios from where they were reporting on the latest, choppers were overhead and still, hundreds of people stood on the bridge and along the riverbank just watching it. I didn't hang around to see it...

If the banks burst completely then one of the areas likely to suffer the most is at the bottom of the hill, which is where I live. I think I'm quite safe in my 6th floor apartment, but my car won't fare so well in the underground car park...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.