Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Brassica oleracea italica...

...or calabrese cultivara, or as it's more commonly known wilted broccoli. Now unbeknown to her, my mother set me a challenge. When she visited last week I had a rather sorry looking broccoli that was waiting to be made in to soup. She looked at it and commented that maybe the broccoli had past the point of being blippable. I'd never considered blipping it but this comment was coming from the woman who once commented that flowers were still blippable until they were in the compost covered with a layer of grass clippings.

So when I went to sort out the veg bag yesterday, I found another sorry looking broccoli. I love broccoli but I also hate it, if you don't cut it's feet off and sit it in water in the fridge the second it enters the house, it goes yellow and is only fit for soup.

I'd been feeling lethargic all day so as I headed for an early night, eyes closing of their own accord, I realised I hadn't blipped. That's it I thought, I'll prove her wrong. So to contiinue my plant theme of the last few days, today we have brassica oleracea italica. Unfortunately due to it's tight head it's very hard to get the nice shadows that I'd got on my other plants. In hindsight I would have grabbed my spotlamp, illuminated the broccoli, cast perfect shadows and then taken the photo. Instead I turned my camera upside down. This left the wall a darker shade of grey than previous days but still not too bad.

So mum, this one's for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.