New (baby) meet Old (town)

10 days old

Katie was today discharged from the maternity department and handed on to the health visitor. I was really sad, my little girl is already growing up! I was also a bit scared. I'd never needed it, and had been entirely confident until this point, but there had always been the security blanket of 'if you have any problems, anything at all, ring the maternity ward'. And suddenly, that wasn't an option! The midwife who came had been one of my favourites. We were shifted from pillar to post during pregnancy as my original midwife was pregnant at the same time and due the same day as Katie. We went to antenatal together and I was the only one who'd known that Helen was a midwife and was told to keep quiet about it! She was fantastic and really supported me through a lot. So when Helen went on maternity, there were a few people shared her case load. The one who visited me this last day was Jean, her daughter was due 5 days after me and had gave birth later the same day!

Today had been a lovely mummy and katie day. We took a lovely series of photos of her in the morning... pulling many faces here's just a few

Late afternoon my parents came round and took us out for a walk. It was too cold for pram pushing, so Katie snuggled into the sling with me. We took Katie down to the harbour and the Old Town for the first time. This is a very special place for us, we had a family business there for a very long time, until July 2010. As a child, I had spent summers playing amongst the crabpots and fishing nets, behind my dad's shop and at my aunty's shop across the road. My dad told Katie all about the different people who'd lived there, and showed her the boats at the harbour.

The night I had completely forgotten it was Halloween. I've never lived in a house with trick or treaters. I was curled up on the sofa with a sleeping Katie when some showed up. All I had was a £2 coin in my purse. They gladly relieved me of it. I ignored the next knock as Katie had just gone back to sleep

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.