12 months + 10 days

We've had a VERY long day today.... Katie didn't fall for mummy's plan of putting her to bed an hour late. She woke up at 4.10, and wouldn't go back to sleep, despite being rather grizzly and tired. I abandoned going to Church and skipped straight to our afternoon out, so she could nap on the way.

We had a really lovely day in Whitby, they have 'Goth Festivals' several times a year, and I love the old parts of Whitby anyway, so a spot of people watching, good company and time by the sea seemed a nice way to spend a day. My parents had suggested it as they were heading there too, so after a picnic at Whitby Harbourand a walk, they met up with us. We had a bit more of a walk, and they treated us to tea. I spotted the horrifically unhealthy combination of cheesy chips, fried eggs and beans (apparently called the 'Whitby Breakfast!???!!) and I thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. It was rather lovely to spend the day with them, introducing Katie to a new place that holds happy memories for me, as a year ago at the same time of day, it was exactly what we were doing then too!

We've climbed some serious hills, walked miles and miles (Katie too), seen some absolutely stunning costumes - as well as some that I was a bit uncomfortable with (children dressed as the undead carrying fake severed limbs!) - but mainly, its just an incredible celebration of individuals and freedom of expression. And WOW are the victorian costumes a stunning way to express this!

Whilst this picture today doesn't really tell the story of the day, I just couldn't not blip it, as I love it so much. The other one (linked above) is more about the day, but the one I chose to blip won out in the end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.