Instography

By Instography

The sinister back room of the mind

It's an all or very little thing, I think. The Lensbaby that is. Still playing and trying out. I like the way you can make everything out of focus but not in an out of focus way, if that makes sense. I mean, if this was properly out of focus everything would be fuzzy with indistinct edges and would look like a mistake. But instead the window frame is properly out of focus but the things in the garden are more streaked and smeared. The kind of effect old school photographers would get with an old pair of tights and a jar of Vaseline, saving themselves a small fortune compared with a Lensbaby. Plus there are probably other things you can do with a pair of tights and jar of Vaseline. If only Stephen Milligan were here to tell us.

But I don't think I like what it does to the outer edges of the frame so that'll probably get cropped out or, as in this case, vignetted to oblivion. On the whole, at the extreme end, it's good for this slightly sinister, children locked in the attic waiting to get beaten (or worse), look.

Tomorrow - portraits if I can recruit a volunteer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.