Catch of the day

Already there is a hurricane on the horizon to linger over our week here. My uncle and dad's response to this is to spend their time obsessing about the possibility of evacuating like little old ladies and constantly check the local news gossip. My reaction to this was to try to make the most of the day!

I spent the morning wandering the beach line and getting battered by the waves. I nerded out bird watching and shell collecting as I went. Sand pipers, oyster catchers, wimbrels, gulls, and pelicans hover in the sea breeze while broken conch and clam shells bejewel the beach. Just under the surface as the ebb of the waves retreat the sand is dimpled with sand fleas that hungry birds nab in their beaks before the next waves crashing. I used to catch buckets full of these funny crustaceans when I was a child and I'm happy to say I'm no less fascinated by them today.

I have been trying to learn about Zen lately and read a long chapter in the sand. Reading on my back and using the book as my sun brim. When I could feel my skin start to burn I headed in to wait out the mid day heat and ended up on a beer run with my dad, stopping at the fishing docks on the way home. These fresh caught mahi, wahoo, and albacore were the day's catch. Big predatory fish from the deep ocean, adrift in the great Gulf Stream. I have been out there myself, twice, and long to return just to see how the color of the water changes, watch flying fish and dolphins, and fight a powerful fish out at sea.

Unable to head out to the Gulf Stream to catch my own mahi I purchased some from the local fishmonger and went home to make fresh ceviche. Round off the day with a long run down the beach at sunset. To the edge of the island and back, sweaty and salty barefoot on the sands.

Whew....Making the most of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.