Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Blue highways

The hurricane, his name is Earl, continues to gyrate across the ocean heading our way. The locals don't seem to worried about it, but nonetheless they'll probably make us evacuate tomorrow. But at least I have today....

I woke up early ate a peach, drank some coffee, and jumped on my bike taking the ferry south across the straights to the island of Ocracoke, one of my favorite places in my known world. I adore this little island dripping off the southern banks like a long white string of pizza dough. And so I've come here today to revisit my childhood memories of this small island town, long white beaches, waving dune grass, and sunny days of yesteryear.

What better way than to bike the 14 mile length of the island and back. And so I did. A thin blue highway of sand squashed on the rim of sky and sea retreating to an unknown horizon....

This place reminds me of that, reminds me of something beautiful I read recently: "I lived on the beach with one foot in fatal salt water and one foot on a billion grains of sand. The brink of the infinite there was too like writing's solitude. Each sentence hung over an abyssal ocean or sky which held all possibilities, as well as the possibility of nothing." ~ Annie Dillard

AAHHH*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.