Festive Cheer

A blip from Edinburgh, a city smothered into silence by a blanket of snow. And still it falls, slanting obliquely, from the west today, across the Meadows to add more layers to the inches already covering the ground.

Although the main roads in the city centre are clear enough for buses to run, I've no doubt that the suburbs are a no go area.
The cleared snow is piled up in the gutters to such a depth that crossing from pavement to road is an art in staying unburied.

My YakTrax foot devices are a godsend and I can walk with impunity on the pavements where the snow is compacted, icy and deadly.

I'm laughing as I blip this because I can hear his Lordship using loud sweary words as he wraps his three presents. I think it's the sellotape at fault this time.
Here we have a man who tells me that I have hijacked Christmas by taking over all operations and that in his former life, he did all the present wrapping and putting up of decorations in his house.
All I can say is that Advent must have been a time of great jollity and festive cheer... not.

I must now get booted and YakTraxed up to venture out into the blizzard and meet Edinburgh granddaughter from school and plough our way back through the snow to the Dower House for supper. I may be some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.