jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Bedtime

Bedtime in the bean household. Tidy toys away. "Drum?" Ok, 10 more minutes drumming. 9 minutes left. 5 minute warning, Ben. "Ok." 3 minutes left. 1 minute. Night night drums.

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA*breathe*WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA



*sigh*




I don't think we should've let him do that last bit of drumming...




Been a nice day really. Steve asked me yesterday if I needed to do a pregnancy test. Hmph. I think actually I've just eaten too much good food to be honest. Wearing the clothes that I tend to wear, you could be forgiven for wondering...

Anyway. We missed Grandma and Grandad this morning. Really missed them. Missed them being in the next room where Ben could go and wake them up and pester them for a couple of hours while we came round. As it was, despite the rather early start to the day, we had a relaxed morning.

I managed to do a marathon shopping expedition (on this note, I have to say I much prefer doing shopping in dribs and drabs, as I don't have such a grasp of how much it all costs that way. But going to do a week's worth of shopping at the greengrocer, the butcher and the supermarket all in one day and spending a fair bit in each place, you kind of realise slightly more just how much weekly living costs. Which I suppose I really ought to do more, then I'd have more of an idea of how much we needed or didn't need. As it is, I feel like being a bit of a hermit for the next week to make sure I don't spend anything else.) while Steve bathed Ben and played on the Wii with him (they flew aeroplanes which Ben loved).

Then it was off out to see Nathaniel and his mummy and daddy, and play there for a while: Ben is just starting to talk in sentences of more than one word, although he does prefer to fill silence rather than fight to be heard; and Nathaniel is loud and talks a lot already! There's only 10 months between them and it is funny watching them interact. I suppose you become attuned to your own child's speech and language development, I can understand Ben quite well but I really struggle with Nat unless it's obvious what he's said. I enjoy seeing our friends.

Meal delivered to a new mum and dad, meal heated up for us, icecreams shared, train set used as drums, train set dismantled... and there you are. Back to the top.

Now it's time to be mummy again and try not to fall asleep in the cot with Ben; Steve will do more painting in Ben's room and I'll join him later....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.