A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Nothing to see here.

Somewhere in there is a boy doing nothing. Under docs order he is to have complete physical and cognitive rest for a minimum of 24hours. Turns out the outcome of a boot in the head is concussion. All brain function tests are fine and I think the biggest danger he is in is from going mad with the boredom of doing absolutely nothing. Earlier he was playing the silent piano on the side of the sofa. He is now asleep which seems best all around.

As ever in these situations I have to take a moment to acknowledge how unbelievably amazing our free at the point of service NHS is. Beyond the whole concept just being extraordinary we were fortunate enough today to be the recipients of swift, attentive, compassionate care from kind and knowledgable people whose only interests were in helping us. I take my hat off for every one of those hours they spent pouring over a text book. I hope they go home at night feeling good about themselves.

In contrast, I am finding it very distracting having someone in the house doing absolutely nothing.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.