Little Red Boat

I took a circuitous route to the allotment today - into the village to see if I could catch the rising mist, I couldn't! Then decided to head into Callington to get the paint to finish my shed. Also managed to pick up a 2 burner stove/grill  - it was at a rock bottom price so how could I resist! I had seen it when I bought my 1 burner but rationalised that I probably wouldn't use it for more than making tea and at £65 not worth it!   Also got cat food from the Co-op at reduced price - considering I had to force myself to go there I was well pleased! Spent the rest of the morning on the allotment doing gentle weeding, harvesting and a thorough coop clean and move. That makes it sound easier than it was! Cleaning was fine, wheeling it round  on uneven ground was not! Amy decided she couldn't wait for me to finish, she wanted to lay an egg - she was in and out like a cuckoo in a clock as every time I locked the wheels and poured water in the coop to check it was level it wasn't, so wheels down and move again! My fellow allotmentor turned up so I made him a cup of tea and discovered I had not bought a stove/grill ! There were two boxes and I thought they were the same - but obviously they were not - ah well, was too hot to go back and change it and maybe I misread the other box and it never was a grill either!!! Anyway we sat in the sun with our tea and biscuits  and had a good old chat!
Later in the afternoon I went to the  open studio of Peter Ursem as I was drawn by the painting in the booklet as it looked the view from my attic!. Just over the railway tracks it was down a very bumpy track, strictly 5 miles an hour!  Turns out it was my view but from the field I pass as I go down to my allotment! I ended up buying another one from the field vantage point of the trees as I preferred the composition and colours. I had a good chat with Peter and he showed me how his 1885 press worked to make his Lino Prints! he also showed me the view from his house which looked at the church at the top of the village above the allotment. he had the most amazing viewpoint down the valley away from Calstock too, and he was most proud of the new windows on his house. His house reminded me of a children's book about a young girl recovering from an illness in bed who discovers everything she draws in a book comes to life in her dreams. She draws stones round the house and as the story develops they start to move closer to the house! Can't remember the name of the book!
Peter is also a writer and I found the two word linocuts quite poignant. One is here ( it's the first one top left, it seems to open onto a different one when i open it!) and the other here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.