Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Visitor

When I took Archie out this morning, we bumped into Rufus and his mum, heading for the Meadows. Christine offered, nay, insisted, that she take Archie with her for a bonus walk. So I went back home, dog-less.

I wandered in, took off my coat and waited for JR to notice. Archie always makes quite an entrance - he gallops noisily down the hall, scattering rugs, rushing straight to the kitchen, where he stands by his dish demanding his breakfast.

Eventually JR asked, 'Where is he?'
'Who?'
'Archie!'

By this time there was a slight tremor in her voice. Had I lost him? Forgotten about him? Had he been dog-napped? Before she started panicking, I explained.

We were expecting a visitor for lunch, so while JR was in the kitchen (in her apron and slippers, I noted) organising food, I washed the path, then popped out for a coffee with my pal down the road, Sally.

Sally had been to Arizona on holiday, visiting friends. Grand Canyon and Las Vegas sounds great.

Back home in time to find Archie back and showered, and lunch in the oven. Perfect timing on my part.

Our pal arrived, told Archie to sit, give a paw, and she gave him a treat. Only a couple of barks! We had a great catch up, looking at Anne's daughter's wedding and her Aussie holiday photos (including a very special one) while she had to look at our Archie puppy photos. They're going back to Oz in March, and having two weeks campervanning round the South Island, New Zealand. I am very jealous.

When Anne was in Oz last time, they flew from Brisbane to Sydney, then drove to Melbourne. They were in Melbourne this time last year, and while they were having a meal in a wee cafe near their hotel, who should walk in but Andy Murray! He posed for photos with them. In fact they were in the same hotel as he was, and saw him a few times. I am even more jealous.

This is Archie admiring the rescued ganache.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.