Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lunch outing

Snow all gone. But there might be more coming our way tomorrow.

I couldn’t sleep last night, so got up to watch the Aussi Open, which started at midnight. Watched Konta's game, but she didn’t play well at all, or actually, her opponent was fantastic and ranked miles below. Which can happen in tennis, and does all the time.

I woke about 7.30, and thought I’d just lie there and wait till 8 o’clock. No. Woke again at 9am. Too late for aquafit! Not that I was unduly upset.

I did spend 20 minutes on the cross trainer. I walked the Goblin Valley trail in Utah. Spectacular rock formations. But I found it extremely hard going. I had to keep stopping and hanging over the handles, gasping and swigging water. I'm sure the lady on the bike beside me was casting glances my way, though I was careful not to groan out loud too much. I thought it was supposed to get easier...

We met up Rufus and his mum to pop out for lunch at a local pub. And very good it was too. We were seated in an area where the speakers had been turned down (at my request). How very sensible - an establishment that has speakers in different areas that can be turned down. Or up. We were all happy with our choices, and a fruity little bottle of Italian wine.

We then took the dogs across to the Links. All the snow had gone, but there was evidence of at least a dozen snowmen. There was a group of dogs running around together, and I recognised Rio (that's him in the photo with Ruf and Arch) and his mum. Rio and Archie used to play like mad ages ago - check out Archie eating Rio's head off - but neither can be bothered now. We also met Pretzel, but they were rushing off on a mission.

Christine came back home for a cuppa to admire our glossy white newly tidied cupboard, and the new cordless cleaner, and was suitably impressed with both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.