Relay for Life 2018

A lovely sunny morning in Scalloway, headed to work and cloudy on the east coast.  It soon cleared by lunchtime and been a lovely sunny and warm day.  Light way after 11pm now.

I had to cover work today, and I've been working down at the Croft House Museum all day.  A bad start to the day, I forgot the keys, luckily Ian o Troswick doesn't live far away.  There was two cruise ships in Lerwick, so I've been mobbed all day.  An evening with the Jarl Squad, and heading out for a dram later.

Every Jarl Squad in Shetland got invited to the Relay for Life event on this evening.  All us Vikings lined the running track, as cancer survivors and teams members lapped around.  Over 1300 people walking the tracks for 12 hours.  We joined in too later.  Loads of money raised for Cancer Research UK, and Shetland always does great raising for charities.  I also got interviewed by Island Medics for BBC and will feature on telly in November.  I'm becoming a star haha.  Here's our squad on the right, as the survivors do the lap of honour.  Taken at Clickimin running tracks, Lerwick.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.