Anniversary cheese

A lie-in instead of a parkrun this morning and it was glorious. In hindsight, if I’d been aware of how much cheese I would consume later, I really should have done the parkrun.

In the afternoon I popped over to Andy and Louise’s to pick up my Christmas tree. Andy was busy chopping wood when I arrived after his trip with ‘the lads’ into a friend’s forest. A trailer full of freshly cut logs ready to chop, on the back of a 1960s Land Rover Defender...surely the envy of a lot of middle aged men. Andy is one of the kindest, most generous men I know and as well as giving up most of his holidays to go and perform surgery in remote parts of the world, is generous enough to provide a lot of local churches (and me) with their festive trees. Tree selected, cut down and stored in the shed until tomorrow, it was time for the party at No. 19.

What better way to celebrate one year in my home than drinking mulled wine and eating cheese with the best of neighbours. Some Christmas tunes, a little bit of dancing and a spontaneous planking competition made for a wonderful night.

Ever grateful for my lovely home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.