Coniston Water

Before this week, I had been feeling as though I don't spend enough time in the Lakes. I suppose living in Kirkby Lonsdale and running around there satisfies quite a lot of the urges that made me want to live up here in the first place but I still wish I'd done at least some of Wainwright's walks and climbed a few of the better know hills. 

Today I went over to Coniston. About forty years ago, my brother and I did climb the Old Man, while my parents sat in a tea room in the town below. That would have been in the time when Arthur Ransome had given me a love of the Lakes, long before I had any idea I would eventually live up here. 

I arrived with time to spare before my meeting, today: not enough to climb the hill but sufficient for a mooch around the shore.

****
-9.4 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.