Music for pods

It's a weird aspect of voices that, allowing for the fact that we mostly have the same basic engineering, they vary so much. High, low, squeaky, resonant, some reedy, and some that carry much better than others. My colleague, Steve, has a wonderful booming baritone and accompanying laugh. 

And that's fine and lovely most of the time except on those rare occasions when we're on the same conference call. We sit right across from each other, so in that situation I get Steve - very clearly - in both real time and then about a second later through my headset. It's more than a man can deal with. 

Hence my retreat to "the pod" today; our soundproofed office within an office. I'd been in here, listening in to the call for about a quarter of an hour before I realised the that there was no reason for the Sonos to be sync'd in with the rest of the office. 

It was the work of less than a minute to use the phone app to switch the pod across to a solitary recital of Eno's 'Music For Airports'. Bliss. 

****
-10.4 kgs
Reading: 'Kraftwerk: Future Music From Germany' by Uwe Schütte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.