Beautiful Blossom

Lockdown Day 25

My friend Allanna posted photos of these beautiful blossom trees yesterday, and I knew they must be nearby as she lives near us and there were also photos of her and husband on their bikes in the field behind us.  So I sent her a message this morning and with her directions managed to pinpoint the location.

After breakfast, I prepared a butternut squash lasagne for tonight's dinner and hung my washing out before heading off on my bike in search of the blossom.  After cycling for 3.5 miles and down a very steep hill I was rewarded with this amazing sight which was worth the ride back up that very steep hill!  Even with my bike switched to turbo mode, it was hard work, but I made it.

When I got home I mowed the grass, went in the hot tub and once Alan finished work we went in the Palace for an hour before dinner. Then at 8pm I joined our neighbours in clapping for the NHS as usual on Thursday nights.  Talking of the NHS, Captain Tom Moore completed his 100 length walk of his garden with a surprise guard of honour from soldiers of the Yorkshire Regiment .  So far he's raised £15,788,011.20 and tomorrow morning he's going to be interviewed on Zoe Ball's morning radio show.  I wonder what the total will be by then?


There have been a further 861 deaths have recorded today,  and our lockdown has been extended for at least another 3 weeks but there don't seem to be any tighter restrictions implemented.  

We've made the decision to delay our holiday in the South France, which was booked for the middle of July. President Macron has said that  although some businesses will be able to reopen on May 11th, all restaurants, bars, sports halls, concerts etc., are banned from re-opening until at least the middle of July.  So we felt that even if there weren't any travel restrictions, it would be hit and miss as to whether we'd be able to go.  Luckily the apartment we had booked is available in September so we contacted the owners and have been able to move it at no extra charge.  Well I tell a lie, for some reason it cost 3 pence more lol!  Obviously we still don't know what the situation will be in September, but as we've already paid for it and can cancel without losing any money up to the end of August, we thought it was worth postponing it rather than just cancelling it.   And luckily the doggy sitter is free then and we're both ok to take that time off work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.