Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two coffees

Archie’s day out! I had a few free Prêt coffees to use up before the expiry date tomorrow, so we wandered down to the nearest Prêt. CLOSED!

I hopped on a bus to go down to the Princes Street Prêt, as I felt very tired today, and JR walked down (though I saw her jogging) and she beat me. Mainly because my bus went on and on and I was almost at the other end of Princes Street before it stopped. So I had to walk back just as far.

JR had met up with Christine, who had been shopping, so she came for a coffee too. We had a sit down, and yes, there was a toilet there too (I’m drinking so much water now, I need to know where the toilets are). I had two coffees, and we were there for ages. Then we walked through the park - no, the fountain is NOT founting yet - and back through the Grassmarket. (NO ice cream today).

It was quite busy, with most of the pubs having plenty of outdoor seating. We had a wee look in the Vintage Emporium (Extra) and then walked home through the Meadows. I felt bad, as the others are so fit and are normally fast walkers, but they had to plod along at my pace, with frequent sit downs. But they didn’t complain.

The Meadows was fairly mobbed too, and we were constantly amazed at all the young lassies in flimsy dresses, short shorts, skimpy tee shirts etc. It was NOT hot. Not even warm. They don’t seem to feel the cold. There was a cool breeze, as ever.

Archie had a wonderful day out too, with a bath before coming home. What a life that dog has.

Photo by Elizabeth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.