Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Carrot cake!

A rather early start today, with a 5.30am phone call, which required action. All sorted, eventually. I brought croissants home for breakfast. I felt quite tired after that, and went back to bed to listen to the news, but fell asleep instead. JR cancelled her morning gym session - a rare occurrence. 

I had a wee slight complaint for the boys upstairs. They are so nice, and I feel like a grouchy old bag when I do complain. So much so that I worried about it all day, and decided to make them a cake. Now, I’ve made about two cakes in my life, so this is a Big Deal.

I had to go and buy a couple of things before I set to. JR got everything I needed out of the cupboards, and then retired to her Pilates session. I watched the recipe video twice... what could go wrong? Well, a couple of wee disasters, including having to chuck out the dry ingredients and start again. I put the sugar in with the DRY ingredients instead of the WET ingredients, and JR insisted it would make a Big Difference - and not in a good way - so I deferred to her superior knowledge because she’s made hundreds of cakes. Also, I didn’t have two tins, so made one deep cake and a wee tiny cake for us. But I had very generous leftovers in the bowl to lick!

JR took Archie out, but I had to stay and guard the Big Cake which was refusing to bake in a normal amount of time. But the small cake was definitely edible.

Then JR went to the garden centre, and I took a notion to give Archie a long overdue haircut. He’s so patient, but I’m always terrified that I hurt him when I snip around his ears, or his nether regions.

Once he’s had a bath, and a dental stick treat, he loves to cuddle up on the sofa, wrapped up in a towel. I have to hurry to lay out the towel so that the sofa and I don’t get damp, because he’s frisking around, impatient to jump up and snuggle.

I’ve just brought the cake up to the lads. They insisted I didn’t need to do that, and magnanimously said that I’m right to ‘complain’ when necessary. But they were delighted to accept it. Charming young lads. 

Too late to take a photo of the cake, which looked quite professional, as JR added the cream cheese icing (which she had in the freezer) and some chopped walnuts. So this will have to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.