Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Joggers!

This morning I texted JR, who was at the gym, to let me know when she’d be walking home, so that Archie and I could meet her at the cafe. It was almost too sunny for a while because JR did not have her sunnies, but clouds arrived and made it much more pleasant. 

We decided to take a bus down to Stockbridge, not having been there for absolutely ages. There is a new cafe I wanted to check out. Actually, it’s not a cafe, more the ‘clubhouse’ for the rugby. It’s a great setting in the new buildings, with a long balcony and tables with great views of the rugby field. Great place to be on a match day.

We then walked along to the park. The pond looked lovely, and JR and Archie walked round it while I had a sit down on a handy bench. I could see them jogging in the distance - Archie gets quite excited - and so when they came round by me, I told them to keep running.

We came across a wee hut selling coffees. It’s never a good idea to risk buying one, though I always think of the wee hut by Loch Lomond, and one of the best unexpected flat whites ever, so we had coffees and sat in the ‘sundial garden’. The cakes were good, but the coffees were like dishwater. I intended letting the chap know my thoughts, but there was a queue, so I didn’t bother - just will never return, though I don’t think he’s bothered.

Had I been fit, we would have walked along the Water of Leith to the Shore, which we have done several times, but today we just walked back to get the bus home. Well, Archie and JR got out at the Meadows for a bit of a run around.

JR - full of energy still - went off into town to check out the new ‘Bonnie and Wild’ foodie marketplace in the St James Quarter, but I was happy to watch the women’s cricket in the afternoon. What a game - it was full of brilliant catches, including three by the bowlers! I like when they explain different bowling and batting styles. What a great game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.