Carry Your Load

This morning’s entertainment whilst we enjoyed a coffee in Market Place, was watching the attempts to fit a large piece of furniture into the back of a BMW X5.
Now, that is a pretty big car. Sadly, the piece of furniture was even bigger. I could see it wasn’t going to fit from 100 feet away. But that thought didn’t seem to have occurred to those involved in the loading. I’ll say one thing - they were determined/persistent/very slow to catch on (delete as applicable) and there were many valiant attempts before abandonment. Even then, the chap in the picture still gave off an air of “I’m sure it will fit somehow”. Unfortunately, everyone else had bowed to the inevitable and the unit was taken back inside. I’m guessing that it didn’t split down either, as the next things to emerge were some considerably smaller pieces of furniture (which did fit easily into the back of the car).
With the entertainment over, we completed our walk and returned home for a quick lunch before I was out again for play rehearsal. But with several of the cast missing, or also taking part in the concert rehearsal taking place in the adjoining room, the best we could do was another line run. As a consequence, I was home much earlier than expected and able to take advantage of some afternoon sunshine to sit out in the garden and write this blip, whilst listening to Johnnie Walker’s Sounds of the Seventies. A very pleasant way of whiling away a couple of hours, just having to be careful to avoid hearing the Grand Prix result before I get to watch the highlights programme later. I probably could be doing something more worthwhile or productive with this “extra”time, but the sun is very warm and I’m very comfortable…..zzzzzzz!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.