Oops!…I Did it Again

In early October last year, I blipped a picture of the small scuff I’d put on the nearside rear wheel of my then two week old car. Almost a year to the day, and I’ve now done the front wheel to match! Not by choice, I hasten to add - more your actual incompetence. Whereas a year ago, I was trying to make a tight turn into a car park in an unfamiliar car, today I just drove into the kerb because I wasn’t paying attention. In fact, the thought running through my head was “what’s the best way to approach this parking space so as not to kerb the wheel?” The answer - obviously - “any way except what you’re doing now!!!”
They say bad things happen in threes, and that was number one. The second arrived within an hour. I had been hoping to pick up a new guitar today, having been advised on Friday that it had arrived at the shop. But before I could go there, a telephone call advised that when the box was opened, it contained a totally different model to that stated on the label. Fender duly advised - full of apologies and dispatching correct model today, but it looks like I’ll have to wait another week or so to get my hands on it.
And the final bit of misery for today was when we visited the carpet place this afternoon. Having been told that our original choice of flooring for the hall had been discontinued, we had hoped to choose something similar. But all the alternatives were either the right colour/wrong pattern or right pattern/wrong colour. Despite a phone call from the shop to the manufacturers for advice and to see if there was, by any chance, some old stock at the back of a warehouse (there wasn’t), it seemed a totally new choice was required. Decided to go slightly more traditional (but with a twist) and took some samples home to try.
As regards the wheel, I’ve rubbed it down with wet and dry paper to remove the rough edges. It should really be then re-cut to restore the surface, but as I’m likely to scuff it again some time in the future, I’ll settle for spraying on a protective coat of lacquer as soon as the weather gets a bit drier, and maybe look at having all the wheels refinished next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.