Cheap Entertainment

What a beautiful day we had. There was a heavy shroud of fog when we got up. I fed the birds early and my mother and I spent the morning just enjoying them. I did a tiny bit of housework in the kitchen just to earn my keep. The temps warmed up so I moved outside where Sugar and I lazed in the swing, enjoying my coffee and reading. Hubby took a walk and read a very interesting book my sister gave him for Christmas. It is a combo of sci-fi with a local southern Maryland setting. Our mother fluctuated between crocheting her snowflakes and reading sweet novels we found her. My sister and BIL always have something to do around the farm. The vacation is winding down way too fast. This rose breasted grosbeak showed up while we were outside. It did not appear afraid of us at all. I am going to miss all these birds. But we saw a hummer at home the day we left; more entertainment awaits us in MD. The guys took out the ATVs after lunch. They rode 12.6 miles. We’ll enjoy the other half of the rib roast for dinner and then read. We have not seen or heard any war news today. Thanks for dropping by. I wish you a peaceful weekend folks. “Last week, when I went early into my garden, a rose-breasted grosbeak was sitting on the fence. Oh, he was beautiful as a flower. I hardly dared to breathe, I did not stir, and we gazed at each other fully five minutes before he concluded to move.” - Celia Thaxter

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.