Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Nice edge!

Today we went along to the lawyer to sort out a small thing. Amazing how much it costs to change a few words legally. But it has to be done…

Archie came too, and I had suggested being dropped off at Braidburn Valley Park on the way home, as JR’s foot is still a bit sore. But she insisted on walking the dog as she’d taken the car this morning, and I drove home as a delivery was expected (a huge box of dog food, actually). Delivery arrived just as I arrived home.

I felt guilty about letting JR walk home with a sore foot (actually, she got the bus part of the way) while I was relaxing, possibly watching BCS… and so I took a sudden notion to… trim the edge of the grass where it meets the pavers. We have a nice straight edge on the flower beds now, due to a new gardener. I haven’t done this for a couple of years, and there’s a very good reason - it’s bloomin’ hard work! Bending down, standing up, bending down.

However, I started, and so I couldn’t stop half way. This time, I was sitting on a chair, which helped a lot, but scissors are not the best tool for such a job - I don’t think they’re made for cutting grass sods the thickness of a carpet. However, I kept going, even though JR arrived home with strawberries, I didn’t stop till I got to the end. Phew! I deserved those strawbs!

Archie met his match today (Extra). He barked at puss, but puss didn’t budge, just glared at him. He stopped barking, and began to nervously edge away. Funny! This cat wanders the neighbourhood, even though his owners moved away from the area ages ago - he still comes back and just hangs out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.