Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Fringe!

Still with only one useable ear. I've been filling it up with the oil drops, and lying on the sofa for ages at a time (good excuse). I often cross our neighbourhood roads without looking because they're cobbled and you can hear a car a mile away. BUT... not if it's coming from my left, as I realised today...

JR went to her two gym sessions, and so Archie and I went down town - I haven't really taken much of an interest in the Fringe this year. I took the new 9 bus, which goes the same way as the 5 bus, and so is pretty pointless. But I was then able to walk up the Royal Mile. Lots going on, with people in costume, people juggling with fire, a man playing guitar with a basket over his head, the man on a bike as a statue (he’s there every year). I stopped at one chap, in a nice costume, and asked to take a photo with the dog. Then a couple more cast members came over to pat Archie. Then a couple more. Soon the whole cast was cooing over him. (Extras)

No 41 bus back so we took our time and walked back over the Meadows. 4,723 steps - I was doing over 8,000 steps on the city tours on the cruise last week, but today I was completely exhausted. I wore different shoes, which are heavier than my little summer Skechers. And boy! did it make a difference...

Came home and lay on the sofa for a while, with oil drops in my ear. We watched a couple of episodes of a silly series on Apple TV about a plane hijack. Jings it was drawn out, and we wished we hadn't started it. JR has three months free access to Apple TV with her new phone, but I don't see much that I want to see.

So, Parkie has left us... all very sad, and it certainly reminds one of one's own mortality...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.