Price Tag

There is an old adage - you get what you pay for. For reasons of warranty preservation, the bike had to be taken to the supplying dealer in Carlisle for its annual service up until 2021. But I was never entirely happy with a) the hundred mile round trip and b) the standard of the work. So this year I took it to Sapphire Motorcycles in Staveley (two miles away!) who have a well deserved reputation for the quality of their service work. I’ve been going there off and on for over twenty years, depending on what age of bike I owned and have always had excellent service.
And thus it was this week, even after not having been there for over five years! Welcomed back like an old friend and booked in without any fuss. Even able to drop the bike off a couple of days before, taking advantage of a dry afternoon.
The bill for all the work was quite a bit higher than last year, but it was definitely worth paying the extra. Not only is the bike now running the best it ever has in four years of ownership but, as you can see from the photo, the engine is clean enough to eat your dinner off. It definitely wasn’t like that when I dropped the bike off and they were pleased to tell me that the whole bike had been cleaned and valeted as part of the service. I shouldn’t really have been surprised, as the workshop is always immaculate - puts our house to shame, it’s so clean and tidy!
So, yes, I got what I paid for - and I’m very happy about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.