Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Movies!

JR went to the gym, Jane took Archie out, then went swimming. I read my copious booklets from yesterday, and tried to remember all our inner workings - what an amazing thing the human body is. To test my ‘knowledge’ I tried to explain it all first to JR, and later to Jane, but with frequent reference to the booklet.

I then went out to get some red lentils for JR’s moussaka. The two corner shops did not have any, but the third wee greengrocer’s did have some. And oddly enough, the came from Canada. (Jane lives in Canada and was also very surprised at this).

In the afternoon, JR was going to meet up with an ex-colleague, so Jane and I decided to go to the movies, as it was a wet afternoon. ‘Living’ starring Bill Nighy was on at 4pm. Ideal. I always like a Bill Nighy film!

We popped in to Bennet’s Bar, a traditional wee old pub with nice stained glass windows. Actually, I should really have stayed there instead of going to the film… I did not enjoy it at all, though Jane did. It was mawkish, tedious, and soooo predictable. I could not agree less with these sentiments:

‘This film will give you hope and give you a new lease on life. A must see, but bring some Kleenex along.’

But I’m sure lots of people will like it, and in fact, most of the reviews on IMdB are ecstatic, so it would not have helped to read them first. (I am aware I seem to be out of kilter with the rest of the movie going public).

Here’s Jane bonding with Archie over his toy, though he seems to be more interested in posing…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.