What a day! It was complicated enough to start with, such that I ended up doing my German lesson from the office in Kendal, but after that I met up with Dan and Abi at Asda for (some of) the Christmas shop, and it should have all been fun and games from thereon in. However...

In 1990, my first wife and I bought a flat in Kendal, which we moved out of maybe eighteen months later, when Charlie came along. It is a long, tortuous, and not very interesting story, that also saw me buy the flat below along the way in 1990.

Thus, for all those years, I have been a landlord, which I haven't particularly enjoyed. However, I always felt I couldn't sell them, mainly because the chap in the downstairs flat has lived there ever since I bought it, and it really was his home. However, this year he moved in with his girlfriend, and finally I was at liberty to sell up.

I found a buyer and we almost completed before Christmas, but today the estate agent told me there was a burst pipe. I’ll spare you the - again - long, tortuous, and not very interesting details, but it was pretty much sorted in the end. 

I drove back and forth to Kendal a couple of times, and found a moment of tranquillity in Old Town, from where I took this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.