Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bin Find No 634. WHY?

Rain rain rain this morning! Archie refused to go out. JR took the car to the gym. A couple of times, later in the morning, I opened the back door to see if he was ready to nip out. Nope. On the third offer, he did take a walk round the garden. Even in the pouring rain it takes him ages to decide the absolutely correct spot to do a pee.

By midday, the rain had stopped and the sun came out, though not in other parts of the country - news of flooding in lots of places. JR went off to the supermarket, and Archie and I took a stroll round the ‘hood. We came across these crutches, just dumped by the bin. Why leave them there? Why not return them?? No wonder Archie looks grumpy.

Actually, I then felt guilty - I have two walking sticks (one for each knee) from years ago. Oops. In my defence, they were stuffed away in a deep corner of a deep cupboard. However, all of the NHS property (including these crutches) is now in the boot of the car, to be returned very soon. I’m sure the NHS will be relieved…

Later in the afternoon, JR and Archie walked round to Waitrose to collect an item. Archie has to wait outside, but she’s usually just in and out. While there, she had an email notice that another item was ready to collect. Bonus!

I made my specialty tea - salmon with a sweet chilli, soy sauce and lime/lemon juice dressing. I can almost even do it without looking at the recipe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.