Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

You can’t have both!

I spent rather a lot of time on the phone to Edinburgh City Council. What a rigmarole getting through to the department you want. You have to listen to all the options, and then you press the number you want, and they say they're CLOSED! This was at 9.45am. Their hours are 10-4. (I'd rung yesterday at 4.10). Anyway, I did get through. I'd ordered a garden waste bin on the 5th May, and haven't got the sticker yet. But no, you only get it at the end of the following month. So actually, I miss out on four collections. He was most apologetic, but said that it was all explained on the enrolment page, which of course I hadn't read.

I took Archie to the Links, via the Police Box coffee (no biscuit). As we sat on our usual bench (I can't walk and drink coffee) a sguirrel hopped down from a tree just across the path, sat looking at us, then skipped across the the next tree and up it. Archie just watched - he didn't bark! He hadn't a clue where it went - it's those eyebrows (well one and half eyebrows at the moment).

I then took a notion to sort out clothes. I've been meaning to do this for, well, years, actually, but since we're having a big clear out and re-organise, I suddenly sprung into action. I have two big bags for the charity shop, and I haven't finished yet. I really don't need to buy another piece of clothing ever again.

JR had gone into town for something at JL, and so after I'd finished my clearance, I went to the gym. (Just a side note: it takes me 40 seconds to walk from my door to the gym. How good is that!!) Today I managed two lots of ten minutes on the cross trainer, as well as the leg and arm exercises. I really couldn’t do that the other day.

I had a phone call from an NHS person re my breathing examination two days ago, offering me an appointment tomorrow. Good service, NHS!

We popped over to visit Hazel in her back garden later, which was divine. (Extra) But she loses the sun quite early, so we decamped to our back garden which gets the sun much longer. Mind you, she gets the sun in her lounge in the afternoons, which is SUCH an advantage. But you can't have both! (Well, you can, in a modern building, of course.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.