Grammy

By Grammy

On The Road Again

I was up at 6:45, completed all the little tasks before leaving, and we were on the road at 8:12. We stopped at our typical four homeward bound shops. My sister and BIL gave us gift certificates to a nice restaurant that’s on our route home. We stopped there for lunch. Then we made our way to Towson, MD to see my aunt who is in hospice. We stayed with her about an hour. She loves to travel so she asked all about our recent trips. I had dreaded what we’d talk about but it was easy. She is faith filled and told us she is ready to go home to the Lord. It was so hard to hold back tears knowing this is our last visit together. Speaking of tears, Kim called during our drive. Trek has bone cancer in his leg. He was unable to walk this morning so they took him to the vet and the x-rays showed how bad it is. I won’t have to stay at their home on Monday. Neither she nor her hubby will leave the kids or Trek. My heart aches for the whole family. Trek had been with them for 11 years. Having to make that final vet appointment is one of the hardest things us humans do. We are heading home and should get there by 8:30 pm; another 12 hour trip. So far, traffic is not horrible. I wish you a pleasant Sunday. Stay safe. Thanks for your visit. I am gradually catching up with your journals. “Travel isn’t always pretty. It isn’t always comfortable. Sometimes it hurts, it even breaks your heart. But that’s okay. The journey changes you; it should change you.” - Anthony Bourdain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.