Grammy

By Grammy

All Over But the Driving

We were out of bed before 6:00 am. Actually, I woke up around 2:00 am thinking about stuff I’d forgotten to put in the van for our trip to Frostburg. When sleep failed me, I said another rosary, read for two hours, and finally fell back asleep about 30 minutes before hubby woke me up. We got on the road by 6:30, picked up Trevor and headed north. We had a nice sunny but cold day. The frost got heavier as we rose in elevation. It was really beautiful. My cousin texted me not long after we started the trip to say our Aunt Jean passed early this morning. So glad we got to visit her. Her remaining son hopes to arrange the funeral for Wednesday; Hubby’s surgery is that day so we won’t be able to go. I dozed off several times. We made one quick stop and arrived at 10:50. Everyone was hungry so we had lunch and then started packing Skylar up in earnest. I packed everything and the guys loaded our two cars. Skylar cleaned and made sure we only gathered what was hers. We moved the last tub out of her room, wiped off the last bit of dust and left a little after 2:00 pm. I was able to stay awake longer on the trip home so I read some of your journals, took a few photos of the winter landscape and chatted with hubby. We could see many trails in the forests that aren’t visible in other seasons. We stopped for a small coconut cake at our favorite bakery and to fill up with gas. Our ETA at Sky’s house is 7:00 pm. The guys will unload all the furniture and crates in her parents’ storage room so she can empty them one by one and put everything away neatly. Some stuff will stay in storage until Chase goes off to college in 1.5 years. Hopefully, his parents will be available that week. Thanks for stopping by. Be safe. “It was one of those winter days that suddenly dream of spring, when the sky is blue and soft and clear, and the wind has dropped its voice and whispers instead of screaming, and the sun is out and the trees look surprised, and over everything there is the faintest, palest tint of green.” — Shirley Jackson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.