jennym999

By jennym999

Goodbye Christmas….hello floods

This morning I put away all the Christmas decorations and went through all the Christmas cards we had received. I noted who we had had them from and was pleased to see nearly everyone we sent a card to….plus those who we sent emails to had replied also. This is a hand painted one….with a Rudolph in Sheep’s Clothing …a nice bit of red glitter for the nose! This friend hand paints a card each year and then gets them reproduced and adds finishing touches.

Flooding has reached our area see extras…..We have never seen the Thames so high near us…when I took Libby for a walk she was delighted that the path was under water…the river is about 18 inches higher than normal and was running very fast.  I then went to see what was happening re Trowlock Island. The little chain ferry is the only way to access the island which has about 30 houses on it. The chain ferry was still working OK but you need waders. I saw one lady struggling to get on it as it was so high above the water so a big step up.  I also saw an Amazon driver getting his feet very wet as he got onto the ferry, I was surprised he actually went ahead with the delivery.

Although the pitches had lots of matches no watersports on the river as I understand there is a red alert for this area at present. Let’s hope it subsides soon, we actually have had no rain today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.